How do I wipe my iPhone and reinstall iOS?

How do I wipe my iPhone and reinstall it?

How to factory reset and restore your iPhone

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Tap “General,” and then tap “Reset.”
  3. Scroll and select “Reset.”
  4. Tap “Erase all Content and Settings,” and choose “Erase Now.” If for some reason you haven’t already backed up your iPhone, this is your last chance — you can choose “Backup then Erase.”

Does factory reset reinstall iOS?

Your computer erases your device and installs the latest iOS, iPadOS or iPod software. After your device has been restored to its factory settings, it will restart. Now you can set it up as new.

Does resetting iPhone delete everything?

Factory reset or hard reset deletes complete data and settings from your iPhone. All your photos, videos, contacts, call logs, passwords, messages, browsing history, calendar, chat history, notes, installed apps, etc., get deleted from the iOS device. It cleans your iPhone as new with no personal information at all.

How do I force my iPhone to factory reset?

To factory-reset an iPhone or iPad, go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

Is erase all content and settings the same as factory reset?

On Android devices, there is a factory data reset option in Settings that will appear to erase all of the device’s data and reset all of its settings.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  How do I downgrade to older version of iOS on iPhone or iPad?

Can I restore iPhone to previous iOS?

There’s no button tap to revert your device back to the standard version of iOS. So, to get started, you’ll need to put your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch into Recovery Mode.

Does resetting iPhone delete Apple ID?

This will remove your iCloud account and disable Apple’s activation lock. … As long as you know your Apple ID and password you can recover your data after the factory reset.

How do I reset my iPhone for a new user?

Erase all content and settings from iPhone

  1. Go to Settings > General > Reset. If you’re asked to enter your passcode and you’ve forgotten it, see Reset the passcode. If you’re asked to enter your Apple ID password and you’ve forgotten it, see the Recover your Apple ID website.
  2. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.

Does resetting iPhone delete contacts?

Resetting your iPhone will completely remove your settings and your personal info, like contacts, photos, etc. So, before you do a factory reset, try restarting your iPhone. This may help address minor software issues. If you decide to do a factory reset, you should back up your iPhone first.

Operating system reviews